More Sports #1



The Ralph's Hi-way  Shopette/ Scoreboard Sports Too Pee Wee A/E Storm faced the Goderich Sailors in a best out of 3 playoff series.

Game one was Friday in Goderich. The Storm played most of the first period in the Sailor's end but with only seconds to go, the Storm made a bad play at center ice and Goderich capitalized by scoring a breakaway goal.

 The Storm pressed hard to even the game early in the second. The team's hard work was rewarded when a scramble in front of the net resulted in the tying goal credited to James Besito.  Jeremy McMillan made some great saves to keep the score tied going into the 3rd.

 Early in the final period, after Tyler Middleton rushed into the Sailor's end, he passed back to the point to Justin Lamont. Lamont's shot on net was stopped, but Taylor Schihl was there to put away the rebound to give the Storm the lead.  McMillan turned away any other chances by Goderich to hold on to the win.

Game two was Saturday in Port Elgin. The Storm came out looking for the series win. Both goalies were standing on their heads in their first period of this game.

Early in the second, Ryan Hopcraft passed the puck out of their own end to Daniel Buerger who fed it to a wide open Harrison Tew who went on a breakaway and put the puck through the five hole and into the net. The Storm looked to build on their lead, but were still winning by one goal after two periods.

 The Storm came out flat in the 3rd, and Goderich came out very strong. McMillan made some huge saves early to keep the Storm ahead. With 4:45 to go in the game, the Storm couldn't clear the puck and Goderich scored to tie the game. The Storm looked to score a goal, but couldn't before the buzzer sounded.

 Early in overtime, Besito got a penalty, but hard work on the penalty kill by Stephen Pilar and Tanner MacAulay, kept the score tied. With less than 2 minutes to go, the Storm were looking  for the series winner in the Goderich end. From the side of the net, Tew passed out in front to Cal Fraser who then passed to Besito at the other side of the net to pot the overtime winner.

The Storm now wait to see who they play in their next series.

Powerhouse players gm 1: Daniel Buerger
                                gm 2: Harrison Tew

Submitted by Ryan Lamont


Action at the Plex

The Saugeen Shores CAW Bantam A's hung on last night in Collingwood to defeat Collingwood in the second round of the OMHA playdowns 2-1.  Saugeen Shore markers by Bill Holmes and Darren Kimewan coupled with tight defensive zone coverage and a solid goaltending effort by Brett McCulloch were the difference in a Collingwood dominated game.  Next game this Sunday afternoon at 1:30 at the Plex.



Cape Croker First Nations Cross Country Ski Team helped by local volunteers. 


SuperSpiel Final

(R. to L.) Winning Skip, Curtis Cassidy, Vice, Darryl Nodwell, Second, Ray Paget and Lead, Mike Ross

(R. to L.) Runner-up Skip, Peter Mellor, Second Jeff Armstrong, Vice Phil Tilker,  and Lead, Carrie Mellor

Curtis Cassidy's team of Port Elgin and sponsored by Frames by Deb won the 26th Annual SuperSpiel held in Port Elgin over the weekend.

Cassidy's team won over Peter Mellor's team sponsored by SISU of Kitchener. The final game only went to the fifth end with Mellor conceding to Cassidy in his 8 to 2 win.

The Cassidy team won the top prize of $5,000 and Mellor's team won the runner-up prize of $2,500.

For earlier news (Superspiel)


Snow Runner

Well, it wasn't during a Saugeener, but this very recent photo is of James "Bart" Chin Yut, one of the Saugeen Running Club members, just after finishing an exhilarating morning run. James moved here from Trinidad a few years ago!


Provincial Legion Championships at York University

The following Saugeen Track and Field Club athletes have been selected to the District "C" Legion Team that will be competing at the Provincial Legion Championship at York University on Feb. 9th.  The Legion Branch they represent is noted.

Athlete Events Branch
Evan Porter 400,800,1500m Port Elgin
Nick McNulty 400, 800m Kincardine
Rita Rudell SH, HJ,60mH Wiarton
Keven Boman SH,TJ,LJ Port Elgin
Josolyn Weir 800m Wireton
Liz Hodgson 800m Walkerton
Hayley Green 800, 1500m Kincardine
Cheyene Hunter 800, 1500m Kincardine
Jordon Collison 1500, 3000m Southampton
Kortney Watson 800, 1500m Kincardine
Colin Bokhot HJ Blyth
Alex Pilar SH Port Elgin
Krisinda Alexander 800 m Port Elgin
Caitlyn MacMillan 60m, 200m Port Elgin

SH Shot Put, HJ High Jump, TJ Triple Jump, LJ Long Jump, H Hurdles


The Saugeen Track and Field Club

The registration  for the 2008 season is being held this week.  Athletes can register at the Saugeen District Secondary Gym on Tuesday evening 6:30 - 8:30 PM or at Port Elgin Saugeen Central School on Thursday evening 6:30 - 8:30 PM .

Additional information regarding registration and the Saugeen Club can be found at the Saugeen Track & Field Club Web Site


Danielle Thede

Danielle Thede, recent graduate of Saugeen District Secondary School is in the "photo of the week" on SportsLinePhoto,com. She is a first year team member of the Cambrian College Golden Shields Women's Volleyball team. Presently she is attending Cambrian College in Sudbury studying Power Engineering. Danielle is the daughter of Lynn and Steve Thede of Saugeen Shores.



House League Team Amazes in Palmerston (more)


Just Announced by Athletics Canada

Mike Thorson at the National Track and  Field Championships Last Year

Mike Thorson of Port Elgin has been named to Canada's National team to compete at the World Cross Country Championships in Scotland in March. Mike, along with 8 other Canadians from across the nation, earned his berthon the team at the National Cross Country Championships held in Guelph in December. More details to follow soon.


(next column)