Grey Bruce Hospice appoints new Executive Director

As of September 20, 2023, Grey Bruce Hospice will have a new Executive Director.

Bill Pearson, Board Chair at Grey Bruce Hospice has announced that Dr. Sabrina Saunders has been appointed the new Executive Director.

Dr. Saunders is Delaware and Mohawk from Six Nations of the Grand River Territory. A resident of Grey County for the past six years, Dr. Saunders first began her involvement with Grey Bruce Hospice as a member of the Board of Directors in November, 2020. As the Vice-Chair, Dr. Saunders voluntarily acted as the “shadow” Executive Director of Grey Bruce Hospice due to a staffing short fall from May-October 2022, making her very familiar with the staff and operating procedures. Dr. Saunders has spent decades working in provincial policy and organizational change and brings 17 years of executive leadership and advocacy to the role.

“The transition will occur officially at the Annual General Meeting of Grey Bruce Hospice on Wednesday, September 20, 2023, where we will welcome Dr. Sabrina Saunders as our new ED. We thank Janet Fairbridge for the tireless work she has performed for Grey Bruce Hospice since she became our Executive Director two years ago. We wish Janet well in her new role with the United Way of Thunder Bay.”