Huron-Bruce MPP to hold key portfolio in new government

Premier Doug Ford swore in his new cabinet today, June 29th, and among those holding a prominent portfolio is Huron Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson, who will hold the position of Minister of Education.

This is Thompson’s third term elected as MPP and she has been a strong advocate for rural schools.

Among the other 21-person cabinet, is Christine Elliott who ran against Ford as leader.  She will be Deputy Premier and also hold the Ministry of Health portfolio.

The 21-person cabinet, including Ford, was sworn in at a Queen’s Park ceremony on Friday and includes:

  • Doug Ford, Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Christine Elliott, Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and Deputy Premier
  • Peter Bethlenfalvy, President of the Treasury Board
  • Raymond Cho, Minister of Seniors and Accessibility
  • Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Vic Fedeli, Minister of Finance and Chair of Cabinet
  • Merrilee Fullerton, Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
  • Ernie Hardeman, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Sylvia Jones, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport
  • Lisa MacLeod, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services and Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues
  • Monte McNaughton, Minister of Infrastructure
  • Caroline Mulroney, Attorney-General and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs
  • Rod Phillips, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
  • Greg Rickford, Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs
  • Laurie Scott, Minister of Labour Todd Smith, Minister of Government and Consumer Services, and Government House Leader
  • Lisa Thompson, Minister of Education
  • Michael Tibollo, Minister of Community, Safety and Correctional Services
  • Jim Wilson, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
  • John Yakabuski, Minister of Transportation
  • Jeff Yurek, Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry