Saugeen Shores new Council is a blend of experience and newcomers

It’s official.¬† Saugeen Shores now has a new Council for the next four years after the inaugural declarations of office (swearing-in) ceremony was held Monday evening, December 3rd (2018).

Saugeen Shores Town Council 2018 РStanding L-Dave Myette, Kristan Shrider, John Rich, Cheryl Grace, Jami Smith, Matt Carr; Seated C- Mayor Luke Charbonneau, Deputy Mayor Don Matheson (L) and Vice Deputy Mayor                                                                                           Mike Myatt (R)
Saugeen Shores Town Council 2018 with Town Clerk Linda White (L) and CAO                                                             David Smith (R)

The Council is a blend of experience and non-experience as three newcomers, Jami Smith, Kristan Shrider and Matt Carr join seasoned veterans Mayor Luke Charbonneau, Deputy Mayor Don Matheson, Vice-Deputy Mayor Mike Myatt and Councilors Cheryl Grace, John Rich and Dave Myette.

Friends, families, Saugeen Shores staff members and former Mayors and Reeves filled the Council Chambers to watch the new Council take its place in history.

Town Clerk Linda White reminisced on the history of Saugeen Shores recounting how in 1999, the three municipalities of Port Elgin, Southampton and Saugeen Township came together under one incorporated umbrella, the Town of Saugeen Shores. “Amalgamation took place in a year that wasn’t an election year and, in the year 2,000, when an election was held, the term of office was changed from a three-year to a four-year term.¬† There have been many changes in the community in 19 years and we will welcome many more.”

Each Council member orally declared with an official ‘oath’ which he/she then signed, lead off by Mayor Luke Charbonneau to whom White then presented the official gavel of office.

Town Clerk Linda White administers the     Declaration of Office to Mayor Luke                             Charbonneau
(L) Harry Thede (Saugeen Township 1986-98), Mike Smith (Saugeen Shores 2006 – 2018), Mayor Luke Charbonneau (2018 -) Art Eby ( Southampton 1997-98), Ken Dunlop (Port Elgin 1985 – 88) and Brian Cleaver (Port Elgin 1991-95)

“As a new Council, we are really just picking up the baton of those who have gone before us,” said Mayor Charbonneau, referring to former Mayors and Reeves that he had invited to the ceremony.¬† “As I am fond of saying, Saugeen Shores is the fastest growing community in the region and one of the best places to live in Canada and the reason for that is, we have worked together as a community for many years and it took many councils and many community members to build this community.”

Following the declarations, Pastor David Baker of Southport Pentecostal Church, delivered the Invocation and then each member of Council had the opportunity to address the audience in Chambers, with most of them thanking their families and constituents who had voted for them.