The Champ team wins 40th annual Super Spiel

In semi-final action, Greg Smith of NFLD (seeded 11th) defeated 1st seeded Glenn Howard of Penetanguishene and Alex Champ of Waterloo (seeded 13th) defeated Oakville’s John Willsey (seeded 5th).

(L)Sue Anderson, Chair of the Port Elgin Curling Club’s Super Spiel Committee made the presentation to team members Alex Champ, Cherlie Richard, Terry Arnold and Scott Clinton (photos submitted)

In the final, Champ won the 40th annual Super Spiel defeating Smith and took home the first place prize money of $3000.

Champ’s winning also resulted in his collecting important points to qualify for the Ontario Tankard to be held in Port Elgin in January, 2023.