Bruce County Warden re-elected and new Deputy Warden position established

On Thursday, December 7th (2023), the inaugural Council Meeting of the 2023-2024 Bruce County Council term was held in the Council Chambers at the Walkerton Administration Centre.

Bruce County’s Councillors, made up of the locally-elected Mayors of the eight lower-tier municipalities in the County, elected a Warden and Deputy Warden for the 2023-2024 term at the inaugural meeting.

(L) Saugeen Shores Mayor Luke Charbonneau, Deputy Warden and Chris Peabody, Warden

Bruce County Council elected Chris Peabody, Mayor of the Municipality of Brockton, as Bruce County’s Warden for his second term for 2023-2024. Mayor Peabody was elected to municipal council in the Municipality of Brockton in 2000, served five terms as Councillor, and was elected as Mayor in 2018 and acclaimed as Mayor in 2022.

Bruce County Council also elected Luke Charbonneau, Mayor of the Town of Saugeen Shores, as Bruce County’s Deputy Warden for the 2023-2024 term. This is the first time that a Deputy Warden has been activated in Bruce County. Luke Charbonneau was elected to municipal council in the Town of Saugeen Shores in 2006, served three terms as Councillor, and was acclaimed as Mayor in 2018 and 2022.

The position of Warden is achieved through a vote of peers on County Council, who manage the affairs of the County’s shared community and resources. The Warden chairs Council meetings, represents Bruce County at official functions, acts as an official spokesperson, and much more. The Deputy Warden supports the Warden’s duties in the Warden’s absence. Warden Peabody and Deputy Warden Charbonneau were sworn into their 2023-2024 roles on Bruce County Council by Tammy Grove-McClement, Solicitor for the County of Bruce.

“It is an honour to carry the responsibilities of Warden for a second year, and a privilege to continue serving the residents and businesses of Bruce County,” said Warden Chris Peabody. “As we move forward with our Strategic Plan, County Council will work together to successfully deliver the services, programs, and initiatives of this upper-tier municipality. I look forward to continued work in the spirit of collaboration, respect, and reconciliation, as well as supporting key priorities like affordable housing, transit mobility, and healthcare innovation. Bruce County Council strives to build a prosperous, diverse, and welcoming community.”

“Thank you for the opportunity to be the first Deputy Warden of Bruce County. I am excited to define this role, and assist the Warden as we implement our new council meeting structure,” said Deputy Warden Mayor Luke Charbonneau.  “I look forward to working with all Members of Council to ensure that our County advances and grows in a way that works well, from Teeswater to Tobermory and everywhere in between.”

“On behalf of Bruce County Staff, I wish to congratulate Mayor Chris Peabody and Mayor Luke Charbonneau on their election,” said Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) Christine McDonald.  “I look forward to the year ahead as we continue to make infrastructure, public service, community planning, and economic growth a priority.”

Bruce County Council for the 2023-2024 Term:

  • Chris Peabody – Municipality of Brockton (Warden)
  • Luke Charbonneau – Town of Saugeen Shores (Deputy Warden)
  • Don Murray – Township of Huron-Kinloss
  • Jay Kirkland – Town of South Bruce Peninsula
  • Kenneth Craig – Municipality of Kincardine
  • Mark Goetz – Municipality of South Bruce
  • Milt McIver – Municipality of Northern Bruce Peninsula
  • Steve Hamell – Municipality of Arran-Elderslie

Discover more about Bruce County Council.