Premier Ford Cabinet undergoes a major Shuffle

Premier Ford announced a major shuffle to his cabinet on Friday, June 7th (2024).

It would appear however, that local Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson’s portfolio has been split into two.  She has retained part of her portfolio as Minister of Rural Affairs, although Rob Flack, previously Associate Minister of Housing, is now Minister of Farming, Agriculture and Agribusiness.


Todd Smith, who has been Minister of Energy, and who recently made an announcement that Bruce Power would see an expansion of its nuclear site, is now Minister of Education, while Stephen Lecce now moves from the education portfolio to take Smith’s place as Minister of Energy.

In addition to the Cabinet shuffle, government has now recessed for the summer until October 21st, which may hint at an early election as politicians can now head out on the trail for ‘politicking’ over the summer.

  • Premier Doug Ford, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health
  • Peter Bethlenfalvy, Minister of Finance
  • Paul Calandra, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Raymond Cho, Minister of Seniors and Accessibility
  • Stan Cho, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Gaming, with responsibility for OLG
  • Doug Downey, Attorney General
  • Jill Dunlop, Minister of Colleges and Universities
  • Vic Fedeli, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
  • Rob Flack,  Minister of Farming, Agriculture and Agribusiness
  • Michael Ford, Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism
  • Mike Harris, Minister of Red Tape Reduction
  • Michael Kerzner, Solicitor General
  • Andrea Khanjin, Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks
  • Natalia Kusendova-Bashta, Minister of Long-Term Care
  • Stephen Lecce, Minister of Energy and Electrification
  • Neil Lumsden, Minister of Sport
  • Todd McCarthy, Minister of Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement, with responsibility for Supply Ontario
  • Caroline Mulroney, President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Francophone Affairs
  • Michael Parsa, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services
  • David Piccini, Minister of Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development
  • George Pirie, Minister of Mines
  • Greg Rickford, Minister of Indigenous Affairs and First Nations Economic Reconciliation and remains Minister of Northern Development
  • Prabmeet Sarkaria, Minister of Transportation
  • Todd Smith, Minister of Education
  • Graydon Smith, Minister of Natural Resources
  • Kinga Surma, Minister of Infrastructure
  • Lisa Thompson, Minister of Rural Affairs
  • Stephen Crawford, Associate Minister of Mines as part of the Ministry of Mines
  • Trevor Jones, Associate Minister of Emergency Preparedness and Response as part of Treasury Board Secretariat
  • Sam Oosterhoff, Associate Minister of Energy-Intensive Industries as part of the Ministry of Energy and Electrification
  • Nolan Quinn, Associate Minister of Forestry as part of the Ministry of Natural Resources
  • Nina Tangri, Associate Minister of Small Business as part of the Ministry of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
  • Vijay Thanigasalam, Associate Minister of Housing as part of the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Michael Tibollo, Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions as part of the Ministry of Health
  • Charmaine Williams, Associate Minister of Women’s Social and Economic Opportunity as part of the Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services