Province provides new financial relief for municipalities during COVID-19

The Ontario government is providing almost $1.9 million in new provincial funding to help Huron and Bruce Counties and their lower tier municipalities address ongoing COVID-19-related operating costs. The new financial relief will help ensure the delivery of critical services during the pandemic and keep capital projects on track.
“The provincial government recognizes the impact these unprecedented times have had on municipal governments and municipalities,” said Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson. “That is why we are stepping up to help out.”
The funding announced includes:
Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanash – $56,916
Bluewater $99,312
Brockton $80,377
Bruce County $501,184
Central Huron $77,633
Goderich $ 66,656
Howick $28,527
Huron County $ 367,943
Huron-East $77,235
Huron-Kinloss $77,215
Kincardine $113,305
Morris-Turnberry $26,291
North Huron $41,669
Saugeen Shores $150,250
South Bruce $44,940
South Huron $86,337
Thursday’s announcement is part of the province’s $500 million investment to help ensure the stability of Ontario’s 444 municipalities as they plan for the year ahead. The funding is being prioritized to help municipalities hardest hit by the pandemic and can be used for things like personal protective equipment, cleaning supplies and by-law enforcement.
“Our government continues to adapt and respond to the COVID-19 pandemic as it evolves, and we know our municipal partners are on the front lines of this effort – providing the critical services people depend on every day,” said Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing. “Our municipalities have been clear that they need ongoing operating funding in 2021, and it is important that we step up and provide that support so our municipal partners can continue to deliver the services Ontarians rely on each and every day.”
This provincial investment builds on the $1.39 billion in operating funding that was provided to municipal partners through the joint federal-provincial Safe Restart Agreement. The second phase of the Safe Restart Agreement was allocated to all Ontario municipalities in December, to ensure that no community entered 2021 facing an operating deficit from 2020.
“Municipalities are important partners in the fight against COVID-19,” said Peter Bethlenfalvy, Minister of Finance and President of the Treasury Board. “We know the global pandemic has created significant financial challenges for communities across the province. That’s why we have been there with support from the very beginning. I encourage our federal partners to step forward with additional investments as all three governments work together to protect people’s health and jobs.”