Saugeen Shores doubles funding to Bruce County Municipal Housing Allowance Program

A recently adopted by-law will see the Town of Saugeen Shores expand its contribution by $75,000 to the Bruce County Municipal Housing Allowance Program to support housing stability. This will increase the Town’s commitment to the program to $150,000 annually, implemented through the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) signed with the County last year. 

This expanded contribution by the Town will see: 

· The existing ten (10) Saugeen Shores households continue to be supported; and, 
· Ten (10) more Saugeen Shores households added to the program on July 1, 2024. 

The Municipal Housing Allowance program, initiated in September of 2022, addresses affordability for low-income households residing in rental units in Bruce County. Eligible applicants are taken from Bruce County’s Community Housing Registry. The Program is intended to expand the support offered through the County’s Rent Subsidy Programs to additional households. 

“The Town’s increased contribution and on-going support of this program reflects its continued commitment to advancing housing affordability and stability for all residents” said Saugeen Shores Mayor Luke Charbonneau. 

The increase of Saugeen Shores’ contribution to the program fulfils a Division Highlight outlined in the Town’s 2024 Business Plan for its Development Services Department. In the plan, the Town has committed to supporting a diversity of housing to meet the community’s needs. 

How to Apply for Housing: 

·               Apply online 
·               Call the Bruce County Community Housing Registry at 1-877-396-3450 
·               Pick up an application at: 

  • Bruce County Administration Centre (30 Park St., Walkerton)
  • Penetangore Hub (529 Gary Street, Kincardine)
  • Lakeshore Hub (1243 MacKenzie Road, Port Elgin)
  • Peninsula Hub (268 Berford Street, Wiarton). 

Discover more about the housing supports and services provided by Bruce County Housing Services.