Deadline approaching for nominations of Heritage Conservation Award

The Saugeen Shores Municipal Heritage Committee is seeking nominations from the public for the Annual Saugeen Shores Heritage Conservation Award.

This award will be presented to someone in Saugeen Shores who has been involved with activities such as conserving historic buildings, educating the public, or promoting the built heritage in the municipality.

“Saugeen Shores is a growing community that celebrates our heritage and remembers our past,” said Mayor Luke Charbonneau. “We encourage the public to submit nominations for this award so we can honour the vital heritage conservation work happening here.”

Many people in the community are active in historical conservation either by restoring their own homes or storefronts, or by educating others. Some past honourees of the annual award have been Audrey Underwood, Matt and Tim Weichel, the Saugeen Shores Rail Trail Association, Ken Cassavoy and Bill Streeter.

To nominate someone for this award, please include the nominee’s name, address and phone number; your name and phone number; and why you believe they deserve this honour.

You can submit your nomination to the Saugeen Shores Municipal Office at 600 Tomlinson Drive in Port Elgin, email it to or mail to: Tracey Edwards, Town of Saugeen Shores, P.O Box 820, Port Elgin, ON N0H 2C0.

All nominations must be received by October 16, 2020.