Ford’s Cabinet Shuffle sees second local MPP appointed as Minister


Bill Walker, MPP Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound and former PC Party Whip, has been appointed Minister of Government and Consumer Services.  Replacing Walker as chief government whip is Whitby  MPP  Lorne Coe and Doug Downey is now deputy whip.

Premier Doug Ford met with the Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, on Monday (Nov. 5) to swear in his recommended Cabinet changes following the resignation of Jim Wilson as Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade.

Wilson’s resignation under questionable allegations resulted in Ford’s cabinet shuffle, resulting in the demotion of some ‘under-achievers and the promotion of others, including MPP Walker.

Among the other changes are:

  • Honourable John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke, is appointed Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry.
  • Honourable Sylvia Jones, MPP for Dufferin-Caledon, is appointed Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.
  • Honourable Michael Tibollo, MPP for Vaughan-Woodbridge, is appointed Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport
  • Honourable Jeff Yurek, MPP for Elgin-Middlesex-London, is appointed Minister of Transportation.

MPP Walker becomes the second Minister to be appointed from the region joining Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson who is Minister of Education.

The remainder of Ford’s Cabinet remains unchanged.