More candidates step forward before nomination deadline

The deadline to file nominations papers for the upcoming 2022 Municipal Election has come and gone.

As of Friday, August 19th deadline, more new candidates have stepped forward.

The additional new candidates have stepped forward to run on Council, including one former councillor who has now put his name forward for Deputy Mayor, and an additional name has been added for the Bluewater District School Board trustee position.

The Unofficial list of candidates now running is:

  • Mayor (1 position) – Incumbent Luke Charbonneau
  • Deputy Mayor (1 position) – Incumbent Don Matheson, Diane Huber and Matt Carr (former Councillor)
  • Vice Deputy Mayor (1 position) – Incumbent Mike Myatt
  • Port Elgin Ward Councillor (2 positions) – Catherine Dianne ‘Mini’ Jacques, Bud Halpin, Katie Rice and Rachel Stack
  • Saugeen Township Ward Councillor (2 positions) – Incumbent Dave Myette, KimberleyInniss-Petersen and Justin Duhaime
  • Southampton Ward Councillor (2 positions) – Incumbent Cheryl Grace & John Divinski
  • Bluewater District School Board (1 position) – Katie Lutz & Yvonne Cameron
  • Grey-Bruce Catholic District School Board – Lucie Desbiens and Jeannette Lee

The list remains as Unofficial, until on or before Monday August 22, 2022 at 4:00 pm when the Clerk will do a review of each nomination received to determine qualification and if the nomination complies with the Act. Once satisfied the candidate is qualified, the Clerk shall certify the nomination.

The final list of certified candidates can then be posted at the Municipal Office and on the website on or before Monday, August 22, 2022 using the “Official List of Certified Candidates”.