Grey Bruce Labour Council: Municipal Election Endorsements Update

This week, October 17th, municipal voting in Ontario will start. “With this in front of us, says Grey Bruce Labour Council President, Kevin Smith, becoming an informed voter and exercising your right to vote is never more important than it is now.”

Amy Stephen, Labour Council Secretary, reminds people to seek out and support progressive candidates. “Candidates that embrace diversity, equity, inclusion and accessibility”.

“Equally important are all candidates, Municipal Council positions and School Trustees alike, but the Labour Council remains focused on School Trustees. The elections for School Trustees sees some of the most regressive candidates running in more than a generation and stopping this attack on the safety of our children is critical,” says Labour Council VP for Bruce, Dave Trumble.

In a press release on September 27th, the Grey Bruce Labour Council provided a list of endorsed candidates for School Trustees and further to this it was expected that additional endorsed candidates would become known as the election got closer. The Grey Bruce Labour Council is pleased to endorse Shenika Reid amongst the list provided on September 27th. Also, in hopes of continuing to aid people in being informed, the previous list of endorsed candidates is provided:

Township of Southgate, Municipality of Grey Highlands Bryden Jones
Township of Southgate, Municipality of Grey Highlands Shenika Reid
Kincardine, Municipality of Huron-Kinloss Jan Johnstone
Town of Saugeen Shores, Arran-Elderslie Katie Lutz
Owen Sound Michael Craig
Brock Ward 34, 36 Linda Strader
Huron Kinloss, Brockton Ward 31, Kincardine Lori DiCastri
Owen Sound, Meaford, Blue Mountains Bruce Muise
Saugeen Shores, Arran Elderslie, Chatsworth, Georgian Bluffs, Lucie Desbiens
Northern Bruce and South Bruce
South Bruce Beverley Eckensweiler

The Grey Bruce Labour Council has been the voice of workers in Grey and Bruce since 1956 and welcomes all inquiries.