Province nominates local projects for infrastructure grants

Ontario is working to support municipalities and get people moving by investing in new road and bridge infrastructure projects in Bluewater, Brockton, Bruce County, Huron East, Morris-Turnberry, and Saugeen Shores.
Huron-Bruce MPP Lisa Thompson has announced that the Province is investing more than $5.5 million in road infrastructure projects in Bluewater, Brockton, Bruce County, Huron East, Morris-Turnberry and Saugeen Shores by nominating them under the Rural and Northern stream of the Investing in Canada Infrastructure Program (ICIP).
“Building and maintaining roads and bridges is a very important part of economic development for every community,” said Thompson. “The province has nominated these local projects, now it’s up to the federal government to approve them.”
Projects approved by the Province include (provincial share in brackets):
Saugeen Shores – McEwing Bridge Replacement ($792,430)
Brockton – Replacement of Bridge 0013 in Chepstow ($534,696)
Bluewater – Replacement of Bridge B35 – Airport Line, North of County Road #83 ($805,199)
Bruce County – Rehabilitation/Reconstruction of Bruce Country Road 6 East A ($1,584,541)
Huron East – Replacement of Bridge Structure T13 on Kinburn Line  ($854,614)
Morris-Turnberry – Replacement of Blind Line Bridge on Abraham Line ($534,696)
“We’re continuing to work with municipalities, families and businesses, to make smart investments in our infrastructure, to keep it safe and reliable,” said Minister of Infrastructure Laurie Scott. “Our investments are creating jobs and growing the economy, shaping the future for hard-working families in Ontario.”
The projects are now with the federal government for final funding decisions as they are reviewed for eligibility under the ICIP program. Some projects could begin as soon as Fall 2019. If approved, the nominated projects will be eligible for total funding of more than $16 million from the federal, provincial and municipal governments.